Bluegrass Underground Season V Wins Two Midsouth Emmy Awards Season VII Set to Film on March 24-26, 2017

Bluegrass Underground, Middle Tennessee’s premier live-music TV program, received top honors at the 2017 Midsouth Emmy Awards at ceremonies held Jan. 21 at the Schermerhorn Symphony Center in downtown Nashville. The program received Emmy Awards for Entertainment and Technical Achievement for its fifth season on PBS, a season that included the first Bluegrass Underground primetime special. The two awards make a total of 15 Emmys received by the program, which has been described as “Austin City Limits meets Nova,” due to its unique combination of cutting-edge roots music, state-of-the-art lighting, sound and direction and the unparalleled natural beauty of the show’s setting, The Volcano Room at Cumberland Caverns. Season VII is scheduled for filming this March 24, 25 and 26, featuring The Mavericks, Kasey Chambers, The McCrary Sisters, Rhonda Vincent & The Rage, Marty Stuart & The Fabulous Superlatives, Blues Traveler and many more of today’s top bluegrass and Americana artists. Limited tickets are still available here.

Accepting the Entertainment Emmy on behalf of the “Bluegrass Underground family,” BGU show founder and co-producer Todd Mayo happily summed up the night, “We’re so proud and pleased to be able to shine a light on wonderful music on PBS in a cave.” Bluegrass Underground is a production of Todd Squared and is presented by WCTE-TV, Cookeville.

In addition to its Bluegrass Underground honors, Todd Squared, the production company of BGU co-producers Todd Mayo and Todd Jarrell, received the Emmy for Special Event Coverage for Nitty Gritty Dirt Band & Friends – Fifty Years, Circlin’ Back!, an all-star concert at The Ryman that aired nationally on PBS stations.

2016 Emmy Awards for Bluegrass Underground & Todd Squared:
Entertainment (Bluegrass Underground)
Todd Jarrell, Todd Mayo, Becky Magura, James Yockey, Allen Branton, Nicholas E. Dugger, Jamie Campbell Ashlee Trott, Joseph Lurgio, Mike Breece, Tim Smith, Robby Black

Technical Achievement (Bluegrass Underground)
Nicholas E. Dugger, JJ Hacker, Robert Devlin, Todd Jarrell, Todd Mayo

Special Event Coverage (Nitty Gritty Dirt Band & Friends – Fifty Years, Circlin’ Back!)
James Yockey, Todd Jarrell, Steve Schweidel, Todd Mayo